The politics of “drains’

The drain besides (and outside) my house had been in a very poor state since we first noticed it more tha 5 years ago.

Some parts of it had sunken, more and more holes have appeared over the years, and leaves from plants and twigs and rubbish from passers-by very often became entangled and caused blockage. Stagnant water of course breeds mosquitoes.

My wife filed a pesonal complaint with local council MPPJ 5 yrs back. No action was taken, and no acknowlegdement letter was ever received although the complaint letter was delivered personally to the council.  Then we approached some political friends to help. A PA from an Assemblyman (from another constituency) filed a letter of complaint on our behalf about 4 years ago. Again no action.

In the meantime, we have to go out to clear the drain on and off to prevent breeding of mosquitoes. That of course was healthy exercise and perhaps has something to do with my physical condition improving.

3 years back, we approached our own constituency Assemblyman  to help  through a mutual friend, hoping that since we were his voters ( and the 2004 election was quite near), he would take immediate action to help us. This time, we did not submit letter but we gave the Yang Berhormat ( in English= the honourable) our address and told him about the conditions.

We waited and waited.  Nothing happened . In the meantime, we continued our labour to clear the drain on and off. ( and My health continued to improve with the regular exercise).

Then in October last year, I met the Yang Berhormat again at a local function. Another mutual friend told him about the problem, and he asked me the address again. I told him with quite a sarcastic tone (I really can’t help it, sorry!) that this was given 3 years ago. Anyway, I said I would write for him again.

What a nice change this time. Few weeks after our encounter, some of his people came to see the drain.

And, you know what, another nice surprise. The drain was repaired last week, after exactly 5 years since we first noticed the condition.

I can’t help thinking perhaps this time the discontent of the urban people and a tough election battle ahead in the next general election  has done the trick for us.

I call this the politics of “drains”.

Of course , before I end, I would like to extend my gratitude to the Yang Berhormat. Although I waited few years, it is still a case of “better late than never”. Thank you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DRAGON TAI
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 15:25:38

    I ALSO FALL IN THE SAME CRISIS. IT HAS BEEN 3 YEARS SINCE. I WAS ALSO TRICKED INTO CHOPPING DOWN A NICE FIG TREE WHICH THE
    MAJLIS PERBANDARAN CLAIMED IS THE CULPRIT
    CAUSING ALL THE BREAKAGE. I WAS TOLD THEY
    WOULD CHOPPED DOWN THE TREE AND CHARGED ME RM80.00 BEFORE PROCEEDING THE
    REPAIR WORK OR ELSE I HAVE TO DO IT MYSELF.
    BUT UNFORTUNATELY AFTER CHOPPING DOWN THE TREE I CAN NO LONGER CONTACT THEM EVEN THOUGH I WENT TO THE OFFICE PERSONALLY AFTER PHONING THEM 100 TIMES UNSUCESSFULLY. AFTER THAT I GAVE UP AND PERHAPS I SHOULD ALSO WAIT FOR THE NEXT
    GE BEFORE I REOPEN MY FILE!

    Like

  2. gta 5 crack
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 22:17:24

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not wditing all that over
    again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

