Tornado in Penang ?

I will post 3 photos here, sent to me by a Singaporean, showing tornado occurring in Florida Penang?

Although I am was a Penangite, I have never seen a tornado in Penang.

I suppose tornado can form in any area when there is pressure differentials . But I can hardly believe my eyes when I saw the photos. I asked myself: is this true? Can it really happen? Is someone playing tricks on me? Especially when there is no mention of such tornado in any mainstream media reports as well as internet portals such as Malaysiakini .

Here are the pictures: (any comments from Penang people?)

tornado-in-penang1.jpg

torrnado-penang-2.jpgtornado41.jpg

Update  Nov 2010:  Some commentators have commented that this is not Penang. Some has accused me of misleading the readers..This was sent to me by a friend in Sinagpore who stated that this occurred in Penang; I posted it in good faith but please note that I did put a question mark in the title, and i asked Penangites to give their input. I also did mention that this may be a trick. If you are misled, I apologise .

Water sprouts do occur in Penang when there is differential pressure in the atmosphere. But whether the above photos showed Penang or not, it was up to Penang people to comment…

Follow-up link:

Tornado occurred in SIngapore

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CHIPPY CHIP
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 00:00:09

    Shit holes. This occurred in Singapore.

    Like

  2. KTemoc
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 00:37:07

    Darren, The ones in your photos looked rather fierce, but yes, I have seen these water sprouts before, though to south of the Island. There’s latent energy in water which feeds the sprouts’ activity.

    Like

  3. theshi
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 00:44:57

    That’s a water sprout. Not a tornado. Not uncommon near beaches with strong turbulent winds. These winds carry the water upwards and form a mini water tornado. Once it reaches land it dissolves as there is no more water.

    These phenomenon are still being studied and the actual nature of it is still not very clear.

    Like

  4. Sagaladoola
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 01:32:27

    Maybe that is just a unique cloud structure you know…

    Like

  5. kittykat46
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 01:41:18

    If these photographs are recent, then it has definitely occurred before. I saw it with my own eyes, some years ago, over the straits between Penang Island and Prai/ Butterworth.

    The wind speed is of course nowhere near the highly dangerous tornadoes which occur in the US , which can exceed 400 km/h.

    A violently rotating wind of 60 -120 km/h, over water (hence damp air) is already enough to produce the waterspout phenomenon in the picture.

    Like

  6. hsudarren
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 08:00:25

    By the way, where do you think is this place? Which part of Penang I mean.

    Like

  7. Trackback: Top Posts « WordPress.com
  8. theplaidnightmare
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 12:20:13

    What the…, that place looks like East Coast Park in Singapore.

    Like

  9. Jan
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 14:07:51

    Looks more like Sentosa Island to me

    Like

  10. lovedeniseh
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 17:16:27

    Is this in Penang or S’pore? I am confused. I am not from Penang but I love that place. If it’s in Penang, it looks like Gurney Drive.

    Like

  11. kittykat46
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 22:18:07

    The photographs are definitely Singapore. There is no seaside park in Penang that looks like what’s shown in the picture.
    And if you look at the original large photo, there are many large ships anchored in the sea. There are never so many large ships in Penang port.

    Like

  12. hsudarren
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 22:52:25

    kittykat46, I think you are right. I also cannot make out which part of Penang. Anyway, one reader has sent me a video taken in East Coast PArk Singapore. You can view it in the latest post that I posted today. It showed the same tornado and the same location as the photos.

    Like

  13. eurene
    Oct 27, 2007 @ 00:03:11

    it’s that penang!

    Like

  14. Faye
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 03:31:28

    I live in Key West, FL and the water spouts are common here. they spring up from time to time from April to November, but are mostly form around Summer after noon thunderstorms that starts in may to August, but seen them in April, September, October also, but not as much.
    it makes one curious and stare at them, but remember they are just as dangerous once they hit land.
    last summer one formed out in the water and went on land and destroyes some navy roofs on couple of hangers, no one was hurt.

    Like

  15. Vins
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 16:55:08

    Does not looked like Penang. But I can ensure you that I withnessed the water sprout at Bayan Lepas of Penang island south east corner similar to this one in 2004. Many of my friends did too.

    My neighbour told me that similar water sprout occurred in Tanjung Bungah in Penang in 2006, while I was at work in the office. She too witnessed the event personally.

    But from these pictures, it does not look very dangerous. You can see a speed boat right at the foot of the water sprout !!

    Like

  16. Sam
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 01:48:03

    I lived in Penang for three years. I saw some very violent storms there, but I never witnessed a water spout or a tornado. While I am sure that it could happen in Penang, I have to agree that this photo looks more like Singapore. I’m sure tornadoes are rare there as well.

    Like

  17. sam
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 20:46:44

    If said this place is penang, that really first to see that. is amazing. great! First Tornado in penang.

    Like

  18. DC
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 00:39:34

    I’m from Penang and I’m pretty sure that this place is definitely not Penang. I have never come across any view like this in Penang in my 20years there. Unless there are some hidden places that look like this which can’t be seen with bare eyes ;o) Please make sure you post facts and don’t mislead people..

    Like

  19. Dr Hsu
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 08:57:17

    DC
    Apologies if you are misled. Please read the update i posted. There is a question mark in the title and i asked for input from Penang people… So if you are misled and accused me of misleading you, I apologise.. there is no such intention.

    Like

  20. james lim
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 17:24:40

    no! that is singapore west coast park i think all the people is scared about the tornado awwww…. luckily i am not there if i am there i will killed by the tornado so whirlly it is just like a whole of dizaster and it is coming to me now because i feel scared of the tornado just kidding!

    Like

Leave a Reply

