Good samaritan and Hope

Yesterday morning, the sky was overcast. When I left my house for work , it was drizzling. after driving some distance, I realised that an unusual  but rhytmic noice emanating from the rear left of the car. So I went inside a Petrol station, and came down to take a look. Alas! my rear left wheel was completely flat.

Although I am a member of AAM, in these types of circumstances, i  normally would  not call them and  would take the jack and change the wheel myself.

In the midst of loosening the nuts before jacking up the car,  a young man who had just finished filling petrol came over and offered to help.

I could have changed the wheel without any assistance, but with an extra pair of hands to hold and steady the spare tyre, it was much easier for me to screw in the nuts..

After that, he helped me to put the punctured tyre into the boot, and offered the info that there was a tyre shop not far from the station  and that the shop opens very early..

Although it was a gloomy day, and i had a punctured tyre which would make me late for my work, my heart was filled with sunshine just because of the action of this young man, who is in his twenties and possibly still in college.

All day, I was in quite a happy mood despite the bad luck.

It goes to show that an act of good-heartedness and lending a hand when needed will go a long way to make a person’s day.

It shows that in Malaysia, despite the bad driving manners of a lot of people, there are still good samaritan around..

Although we now know that character has a lots to do with genetics, I want to believe Mencius who had proposed the theory that all men are born good and innocent and it was the environment as well as the  upbringing that shapes a person’s character. As a romantic in my heart, believing in the goodness of mankind gives me hope and happiness; one day, maybe human beings will truly evolve to a stage where humanity, morality and compassion are practiced by all.

Believing in the goodness of human gives us Hope, and Hope is what sustains most of us, whether in bringing up children, in our career, in our relations , even in our casting of votes!!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 08:53:09

    Doc , I too feel happy and heartwarming after reading about this incident .
    Thanks for sharing, we certainly need more stories like this in this wicked world.

    Like

  2. Li Li Fa
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 16:15:23

    Dr. Hsu,
    I agree with you when you said that the Good Samaritan did make your day and gave you a blessing of hope and joy. May I also take this opportunity to wish you and family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2011. Thank you for all the useful, thoughtful, wise, and hopeful articles on your blog throughout the entire year.

    As to the tyre changing experience- I too had a similar incident, but I was helped by a petrol station attendant. It was not his obligation to help me change a flat tire by out of the kind-heartedness of his Bangladeshi worker, I received much help. After his help, I thanked him and enquired about his family back home, which according to him is but a cell-phone call away. He likes working here, and this land has become is land of hope and livelihood. We parted on a friendly hope human goodness.

    Like

  3. CYC
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:04:53

    While we rejoice the good deed of this kind young man, our leader is tarnishing the country’s image for allegedly committed the sin of raping an Indonesian maid. How disgraceful ! With all these morally decayed politicians ranging from rapist, adulterer, backside pinching maniac, snatcher of nation’s wealth……..and list goes on and on. So, we have a bunch of sinful leaders teaching us how to behave and be competitive. Can you believe it?

    Like

  4. aca
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 14:19:38

    cyc,

    it aint confirm but whether he does it or not, that guy has no class.

    how can you say that you write a thesis that gave you the PHD without believing in it? thats the quality of an UMNO minister. You carry the balls of the top and viola you are good enough to be a minister. Now you know why our neighbours are sneering at us coz of our incompetent ministers. How we lost an island to them and claim glory for winning some pebbles in exchange?

    Like

  5. Vivien Gutzmer
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 03:07:09

    Hey there I am so grateful I found your website https://hsudarren.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/good-samaritan-and-hope/, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and an all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome effort.

    Like

Leave a Reply

