Welcome, new monkeys on the blog

It was not too long ago that someone important, or pretending to be important, labelled bloggers as monkeys! (Pls read this article by Nuraina Samad at that time)

Even Malaysiakini then carried an article about Government leaders’ attack on blogging. Bloggers were labelled as irresponsible and accused of lie-spreading; never mind that the number one lie-spreader award should go to the mainstream media.

After the recent general election, one of the most noticeable change in Malaysia was the sudden mushrooming of blogs- especially by BN politicians. It was as if they were waiting to obtain their licenses to blog and that licenses were suddenly granted after the election; never-mind that blogging does not require license, except perhaps conscience, time and a sense of responsibility. 

Suddenly, within the short period of 50 days after the election, blogs are mushrooming. No more worries of being labelled anti governments, these politicians have opted to join the rank of the “monkeys”. They have decided to join us in the jungle.

On a personal front, it was not too long ago that even some of my own comrades looked at we bloggers as extremists with the potential of “rocking the boat”. I was classified as a non-team player by some because of my blogging, even though what I blogged is about our ideology – which is to create a fair, equal and multiracial society .

I believe in that ideology and I have never veered from that. I have blogged for about one and a half year now, and I like to believe that I have done my wee bit in bringing about an awareness of good governance, freedom and equality. I like to believe that I have done my little bit to make the  world a better place.

If the team has veered from that ideology, I feel that it is my responsibility and my duty  to remind the team that they have to go back to the ideology!! Never mind the label of non-team player, never mind the character assassination that one senior member has been labelling me. I have all this while never answered to any of these labelIing, because i feel that my consciense is clear. I cannot and would not veer from my objective of a fair and equal society and to make this world a better place, so that next time, when my children ask me what I have done, I can answer proudly that I have done my little bit in voicing out for what I believe in.

I feel vindicated by the suddenly mushroomng of the blogs, and I am sure my fellow ‘monkeys’ in the old blogosphere will feel the same vindication  – those who criticised blogs before are now rushing in to create their own blogs.

To these new kids (or shall I say monkeys) on the ‘blog’, I say welcome to the blogosphere. It will be interesting to see how these politicians (especially those from UMNO )  blog, because whatever is written serves as a record for posterity, and whatever they advocate, they cannot turn around and say ‘I never say so”.  Blogging is really a test of one’s sincerity and consciense. Do not blog just for the sake of blogging, do not blog just because it is now fashionable to do so!