Why are companies delisted from Bursa?

I notice that there is a trend of public listed  companies being taken private.

Maxis is the biggest, about 3 % of Bursa’s capitalisation, then there are others this year like PPB Oil, MOX, AJ Steel (formerly Malayawata), Malakoff etc.

All these are good companies and will their delisting affect Bursa Malaysia? That is the big question I am posing for all of you out there, including analysts from media and Malaysiakini.

If the majorority shareholder would pay a hefty amount to delist the shares, the shares must have good potential = why then allow these companies to be delisted? Why can’t the loyal minority shareholders reap the benefits of realising the potential of such a company?

Will all these delisting affect the relevance of Bursa Malaysia?

Business Times Singapore published an article on 21st May  titled: MALAYSIA INSIGHT
Delistings put Bursa’s relevance at risk.

More

Growing blog

I was pleasantly surprised by a link in the “coming in” link section of my dashboard which showed that a link from wordpress.com  showed that my blog was the fourth ranked blog (fastest growing blog) on 21st May 2007, which is indeed an honour, considering that wordpress.com is worldwide and has about 1 million blog under it.

botd2.jpg

(click to see more clearly)

I don’t know what criteria they used and how they tabulate it, but for the moment I am feeling quite happy and a bit light headed, like getting an all As in an exam, a feeling that I have not had since doing my Master’s degree in Ocupational medicine.